The 50 Best MN-Made Gifts for 2018

Your gift guide this season comes from local artisans

Artisanal, bespoke, handmade, small-batch. The gifts in this guide were crafted in garage studios, rural pastures, and everywhere in between. Celebrate what we love about Minnesota, whether you’re entertaining, stepping out in style, or keeping local traditions alive. We honor our legacy brands and shine light on new makers writing their own Minnesota history.


Photos by Erica Loeks, styling by Casie Beldo and Mandy Finders


Wrapping Paper: Amarilys Henderson, watercolordevo.com

Scissors and Notebook: Russell + Hazel, russellandhazel.com

Wooden Spoon and Metal Ornament: The Vintage Studio, vintagestudiomn.com

Wooden Ornament: Melinda Wolff, $14, melindawolff.com

Cookies: The Cookie Creative, thecookiecreative.com

Peppermint Bark: Annie B’s, anniebs.com

Coffee: Peace Coffee, $11, peacecoffee.com 

Mug: â€‹Samantha Longley, $30, samanthalongley.com

Table: Timber & Tulip, timberandtulip.com


Skillet: American Skillet Co., $130, americanskilletcompany.com

Nuts: Isadore Nut Co., isadorenutco.com

Cheese: Redhead Creamery, redheadcreamery.com

Honey: Ames Farm, $11.50, amesfarm.com

Pickles and Peppers: Hobby Farmer, hobbyfarmerfoods.com

Salami and Charcuterie: Red Table Meat Co., redtablemeatco.com

Lazy Susan: Cambria, $175, store.cambriausa.com


Tray: Timber & Tulip, timberandtulip.com

Hand-blown Glasses: Hennepin Made, hennepinmade.com

Coasters: Concrete Pig, $42, concretepig.com

Spiced Rum: 10,000 Drops, 10000drops.com

Aquavit: Skaalvenn Distillery, skaalvenn.com

Espresso Vanilla Vodka: 5 Vodka, fivevodka.com

(Not sure what to mix with these? Here are three holiday-ready cocktail recipes, each using one of the above liqueurs.)


Bracelets: Realia by Jen, realiabyjen.com

Rings: Petrichor Tileworks, $65 each, petrichortileworks.com 

Earrings: Koon Yai Studio, $35, koonyaistudio.com

Charcuterie Board: Cambria, $150, store.cambriausa.com

Felt Purse: LES Bags, $125, les-bags.com

Watches: Taki Watches, $110-$125, takiwatches.com

Planners: Russel + Hazel, $24, russellandhazel.com

Bowtie: Mill City Fineries, $58, millcityfineries.com

Slippers: Minnetonka Moccasins, $39.95-$44.95, minnetonkamoccasins.com

Balsam Fir and Clove Candle: Koselig Candle Co., $24, koseligcandleco.com

Skin Care Products: Worker B, worker-b.com

Glasses: Evolve Eyewear, $149, evolve-eyewear.com

Beanie: Nicki Chicki, nickichicki.com

Printed Light Bulbs: Relamp, $39, relamp.com


Minnealphabet Book: Meg Erke, $30, megerke.com

Bird Feeder: Jules Loft, $22, julesloft.com

Cinch Pack and Blanket: Faribault Woolen Mill Co., $35 and $110, faribaultmill.com

Bat and Ball: Pillbox, $70 and $40, pillboxbatco.com

Ping-Pong Paddles: $50 each, stanglerworks.com

Log: OneLogFire, $19.95, onelogfire.com

Tic-tac-toe: Timbr, $46, timbrdesign.com


Leash: Addington Co., $65, addingtonco.com

Plaid Vest: Lucy & Co., $45, lucyand.co

Smoked Beef Bones: Barkley’s Bistro, barkleysbistro.com

Bowl: Red Wing Stoneware & Pottery, $34.95, redwingstoneware.com

Blanket: Faribault Woolen Mill Co., $110, faribaultmill.com

Pillow: Catstudio, $184, catstudio.com

(Eyeing that French bulldog? That’s Lil Norman. You can find him, along with Lola and Big Frank, on Instagram at @ThreeLittleFrenchies.)


Jerrod Sumner is Minnesota Monthly’s resident “maker whisperer,” and he recently opened the locally focused Rose & Loon shop at Rosedale Center. Find him on Instagram at @mrjerrodscott.

Facebook Comments